If you haven’t heard of Chikungunya, you should google it.

Here’s an excerpt from the handy wikipedia page: “According to the initial 1955 report about the epidemiology of the disease, the term ‘chikungunya’ is derived from the Makonde root verb kungunyala, meaning to dry up or become contorted. In concurrent research, Robinson glossed the Makonde term more specifically as “that which bends up.”

Okay whatever, contortion, bending up, however you spin it – it happens because of PAIN.

And I didn’t even get it that bad. I was in bed for nearly the entirety of two days. My community gifted me lots of food which made me all weepy but I let it sit around as decoration since I wasn’t into the whole eating thing.

DSCF3890DSCF3891

My bad ass host mom machete-ing open a coconut for me.

DSCF3962

Coconut water brought me back.

Oh and did I forget to mention the full body rash? My host mom made a polvo from dried yucca to soothe my sad skin.

DSCF3964 DSCF3966 DSCF3967 DSCF3968

Besides joint pain every now and then, I’m A-OK. And the joint pain, let’s face it, might just be from old age.

