There is a class that meets three times a week in the community center and I guess they learn how to make furniture. One time I walked in on their class and thought it was a community meeting so I sat down and then realized it was not and everyone was staring at me so I left. I just tried to act like part of my job is to survey the furniture making classes in our area or something. Anyway, Irma, a local mover and shaker, decided to organize a trip to the river for the entire class and they could swim and cook lunch there.

Image

Making locrio!

And they invited me! Which means I didn’t have to bring anything, but I got to eat the food – pretty sweet. There was no bus so we all walked, carrying pans, rice, and all of the other things we needed to prepare a lot of locrio at the river.

Image

It took about an hour to get there, crossing over really muddy hills that took a long time but barely slowed down the 9-month pregnant Maiobi.

Image

People love each other!

On the way there I was showing two high schoolers the music I have on my cell phone. I don’t know exactly what they’re saying but I know it’s all about sex. But these days what music isn’t? Anyway after a while I asked why one girl knew all the songs and the other girl didn’t. “She’s Christian,” my friend explained [read: Evangelical], “She can’t listen to that stuff.” “Oh my god!” I turned it off and felt horrible. We listened to songs about Jesus for the rest of the walk. So I guess there’s still some music that isn’t just about sex. The river was lovely and cool. We swam and there was a cliff that we all jumped off. After I jumped my project partner’s sister almost had a heart attack and told me that was my last time jumping off the cliff. “If something happened to you my sister would be very upset with me!” she explained. Then we ate a bunch of food.

Image

You can’t tell but this is me helping to prepare food! Whoever took the photo missed an essential part. 

We walked home after lunch and the hot sun dried and warmed us. In fact, I was sweating by the time we got home.

Image

Me and my friend Juna!

